Reconstruction of Berlin Palace

The historic city centre is undergoing a profound process of transformation.

30th of November 2019 has been set as the date for the opening of the Humboldt Forum inside the shell of reconstructed facades of Berlin Palace. It will be a partial opening and further building sections will be opened in several steps in 2020.

The building houses the Humboldt Forum and has been designed as an exhibition and event centre for the Federal Republic of Germany in terms of space programme and technical equipment. 500 million Euro will be provided by the Federal Government and 105 million Euro for the historic facades will be raised by donations. This makes the Humboldt Forum the federal government’s largest cultural investment project ever.

The design by the architect Franco Stella from Vicenza/Italy, who won the competition in 2007, will be realized. Together with two other offices and under the name “Franco Stella Humboldt-Forum Projektgemeinschaft”, planning began in 2009. Construction works started in 2012 with the laying of the foundation stone. The project will now be completed and commissioned in 2019.

 

Restoration of external facades, courtyard facades and dome

Three historic exterior facades, three baroque courtyard facades and two courtyard portals of the Berlin Palace, which was blown up in 1950, are being restored.

The reconstruction of the exterior facades of the Berlin Palace was based on the work of the Berlin architectural office Stuhlemmer, and was carried out after research and evaluation of historical illustrations and models.

Stadtschloss

The Spandau Castle Building Hut was founded under the direction of the sculptor Berthold Just to restore the sculptures and reliefs of the façade decoration.

 

New formulation of the fourth façade by Franco Stella

The east façade of the castle is formed by a grid façade that follows the storey of the baroque façades and is clad with slabs of architectural concrete, the colour of which is based on the light sandstone of the reconstructed façades.

 

Stella, Humboldt Forum berlininfo

Ostfassade Huboldt Forum, Architekt Franco Stella

 

Civil engineering and shield tunnelling of the U-5 under the construction site

During the shell construction period, the construction of underground line 55 between Rotem Rathaus and Brandenburger Tor was interesting from an engineering point of view. Using a Herrenknecht shield tunnelling machine, 2 tunnel tubes were manufactured. The foundation slabs of the castle construction site were driven under diagonally at a distance of only 2.50 m. The tunnel was then driven through the tunnel with the help of a shield tunnelling machine from Herrenknecht.

 

Open space design

The exterior design and thus the design connection to the Museum Island as well as the integration into the surrounding urban space is the responsibility of the Senate Department for Urban Development and Housing and is carried out according to the plans of the BBZ Landscape Architects office. This work is scheduled to be completed by 2021.

Rekonstruktion Berliner Stadtschloss und Nutzung als Humboldt Forum

2019 soll Eröffnung sein

Der 30. November 2019 ist gesetzt als Termin für die Eröffnung des Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss. Dabei wird es sich allerdings um eine Teileröffnung handeln, weitere Gebäudebereiche öffnen bis 2020 in mehreren Schritten.

Das Gebäude beherbergt das Humboldt Forum und ist in Bezug auf das Raumprogramm und die technische Ausstattung konzipiert als Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungszentrum der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. 500 Millionen trägt der Bund, 105 Millionen Euro für die historischen Fassaden sollen durch Spenden aufgebracht werden. Damit ist das Humboldt Forum das größte Investitionsprojekt des Bundes im Kulturbereich.

Gebaut wird der Entwurf des Architekten Franco Stella aus Vicenza/Italien, der im Wettbewerb 2007 als Sieger hervorging. Gemeinsam mit zwei weiteren Büros und unter dem Namen „Franco Stella Humboldt-Forum Projektgemeinschaft“ begann 2009 die Planung und 2012 die Grundsteinlegung erfolgte 2012. Im Jahr 2019 geht das Projekt nun seiner Fertigstellung und Inbetriebnahme entgegen.

 

 

 

Wiederherstellung von Außenfassaden, Hoffassaden und Kuppel

Drei historische Außenfassaden und die Kuppel, drei barocke Innenhoffassaden, sowie 2 Innenhofportale des 1950 gesprengten Berliner Schlosses werden wiederhergestellt.

Die Rekonstruktion der Außenfassaden des Berliner Schlosses erfolgte auf Grundlage der Arbeiten des Berliner Architekturbüros Stuhlemmer, entstanden nach aufwendigen Recherchen und Auswertungen historischer Abbildungen und Modelle.

 

Barockfassade am Berliner Schloss,  berlininfo Foto: Christian Hajer

Rekonstruktion der Barockfassade nach Andreas Schlüter am Berliner Schloss

Für die Wiederherstellung der Skulpturen und Reliefs des Fassadenschmucks wurde die Schlossbauhütte in Spandau gegründet unter der Leitung des Bildhauers Berthold Just.

 

Neuformulierung der vierten Fassade durch Franco Stella

Die Ostfassade des wird durch eine Rasterfassade gebildet die sich an die Geschossigkeit de Schlosses anschließt und mit Platten aus Architekturbeton verkleidet ist, die sich farblich an den hellen Sandstein der rekonstruierten Fassaden anlehnt.

 

Stella, Humboldt Forum  berlininfo

Ostfassade Humboldt Forum, Architekt Franco Stella

 

Tiefbau und Schildvortrieb der U-5 unter der Baustelle

Ingenieurtechnisch interessant war während der Rohbauzeit laufende Bau der U-Bahnlinie 55 zwischen Rotem Rathaus und Brandenburger Tor. Mittels einer Schildvortriebsmaschine der Firma Herrenknecht wurden 2 Tunnelröhren gefertigt. Dabei wurden die Gründungsplatten der Schlossbaustelle diagonal mit einem Abstand von nur 2,50 m unterfahren.

 

Freiraumgestaltung

Die Außenraumgestaltung und somit die gestalterische Anbindung and die Museumsinsel als auch die Einbindung in den umgebenden städtischen Raum liegt in der Zuständigkeit der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen  und erfolgt nach den Plänen von des Büros BBZ Landschaftsarchitekten. Der Abschluss dieser Arbeiten ist bis 2021 vorgesehen.